Go be a Gryffindor!

I think of love too often. I think it is important and magical how people love music or books or fall in love with a person and decide to spend the rest of their lives together. And then there are people (people like my parents) who don’t believe in such things. Like I said, love is magic and since my parents don’t believe in it, let’s just call them the Dursleys of my life.
Today, I was reading a book, minding my own business when my mother who was vacuuming the floor, started yelling at me asking me to put down the book and learn some house chores instead. Since, according to her these “house chores” will help me be successful and find a good husband (and let’s be honest, 95% of the Desi parents wouldn’t even ask their children about  their sexualities) and will not ruin her name in front of my in laws.
Now, I am just a twenty year old girl with no future planned out and definitely not ready for any kind of responsibility and won’t ever compromise and I follow my heart too much. So I ignored her (for the millionth time!). I kept wondering how my parents had managed to live their lives without love. None of them is fond of books or music or movies or of each other. If we ever find about aliens they’d probably be exactly like my parents since I have never seen a human being like them. They just continue living their miserable lives and forcing us to do the same.
So, I asked my mother one day. I asked her if she disliked my father so much why doesn’t she leave him. She said she couldn’t because of the society and would rather suffer her way through life.  Honestly, instead of marrying a stranger and waking up next to them every next day of your life and having babies with them (since you’re left with no choice once your parents start encouraging you to reproduce a human) why don’t you be a little Gryffindor and not do any of the things you don’t want to do. Because isn’t the idea of doing the things that you do not love utterly unfathomable? I know it is.
P.S. You don’t really have to be a Gryffindor to do what you think is right for you.

6 thoughts on “Go be a Gryffindor!

  1. My parents don’t understand the concept of love either – even though, they do love each other. They can’t understand that love can and should occur before marriage.

    Like

  2. My mom and dad didn’t get much time before marriage to enjoy pre-marriage-romance. But they both believe in love. When I turned 18, my mom called me and said “now it’s legal for you to marry the guy you like. But we are a family so you can do it in a nicer way. When you find the guy of your choice, just tell us. We’ll do the rest as it’s something we’d love to do. Just remember something, someone who’d control your life in a way that suffocate you is never the right person. Find someone who’d never stop you from going for your dreams.” There was more, but this was the key. They both love books and music; mom sings quite good; dad writes. But that doesn’t mean I always have a fairytale life. I have had my share of fights with mom. She don’t think I should learn cooking and taking care of house before getting married, but she hates my laziness. She scolds me if the boom I took from shelf din go back to its actual place after reading; when I forget to fold my quilt after getting out of bed; when I don’t take bath before noon..
    Oh.. I’m ranting..

    Like

    1. My mom and dad are the best compatible couple I have ever met. They love each other so much that they fight like kids, pull each others’ legs and make fun of each other. And they’re 63 and 54😂

      Like

      1. Your parents are honestly goals. The normal yelling is okay. Every parent is supposed to do that. It’s only natural. But I hate when they are being homophobic or racist or just plain stupid.

        Like

Leave a Reply

